Jean Mensa Runs EC Like It Is Her Personal Property – George Opare Addo

Jean Mensah
Electoral Commission Boss

The National Youth Organizer of Ghana’s largest opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), Lawyer George Opare Addo has lamented about the managerial style of the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission (EC) Jean Mensa, for refusing to accommodate the opposing views of various political parties under the umbrella of Inter-Party Resistance Against the New Voter’s Register.

NDC’s National Youth Organizer has likened the leadership of the EC by Jean Mensah to a Personal Property.

Speaking in an interview with Kwame Tutu on ‘Anopa Nkomo’ on Accra based Kingdom FM 107.7 he said “Jean Mensa is running the Electoral Commission like her personal property same as Bossman Asare.

He said, any attack on the neutrality of the EC and its commissioners, particularly, Jean Mensa is as a result of certain utterance she has made.

According to him during Jean Mensa first IPAC meeting after she became the Electoral Commissioner, she gave the NPP 2weeks notification earlier towards the meeting and the NDC just 2hours to the meeting.

“Clearly when you act like this, you open yourselves for some of these attacks. So instead of people attacking the institution, they rather attack her because of certain utterances she has made”, he said.

Speaking from a legal perspective, the National Youth Organizer indicated that, Jean Mensa is an Article 71 officeholder, therefore her status as an Electoral Commissioner is just like that of an Appeals Court Judge hence she is no more a political appointee of the President but rather an independent commission.

Explaining further, he added that “the President appoints Supreme Court Judges but they are not political appointees of the President. The Appeals Court Judges are also appointed by the President through the Judicial Serves and so this does not make them appointees of the President.

source: TheBBCghana.Com
Previous articleVideo: The evil deeds of Prophet Nigel Gaisie exceeds Bishop Obinim – Kennedy Agyapong
Next articleCheck The List of 2020 Approved NPP Parliamentary Aspirants